AmaDahlia
Small river ship. Operated by AmaWaterways.
Sailing, two sources checked 12 Sep 2026
Our view
AmaDahlia does the mainstream Egypt river cruise competently and sells it as a package rather than as a cruise, which makes it hard to compare on price with anything else here. The absence of a lift on a five deck ship is the fact most likely to catch a guest out, and to the operator's credit it says so plainly. A reimagined version was announced for September 2026 with no published detail, so a booking made now is a booking on a ship nobody outside AmaWaterways has described.
Who it suits
- First visit to Egypt
- Travellers who want everything arranged before they arrive
- Guests who want a pool and full restaurant service
- Anyone who prefers a large ship to a small boat
Who it does not suit
- Anyone who cannot manage stairs, the operator states there is no elevator on five decks
- Families with children under 12, that is the line's minimum age on Egypt programmes
- Travellers who want a cruise only price, the published fare is an eleven night package that mixes Cairo hotel nights with nights aboard
- Anyone booking the next twelve months on the strength of the 2026 rebuild, the operator has released renderings and no description of the work
- Guests who came for quiet, this is 72 people and 62 crew on one hull
- Service style
- Hotel service model with a fixed daily programme, Egyptologist led excursions in every port, and wine and beer included at meals.
- The cabin we would book
- One of the sixteen suites, on a middle deck. They are the larger half of the ship, and a middle deck keeps the stair climb short in both directions on a vessel with no lift.
- Nearest alternative: AmaLilia
- Same line, same eleven night Cairo round trip, same inclusions. AmaDahlia is the smaller and older hull at 72 guests, AmaLilia is the 2024 build at 82. See its record →
Identity · 4 of 4 on file
The vessel · 12 of 13 on file
How it operates · 6 of 9 on file
Price · 2 of 5 on file
Reputation · 2 of 3 on file
What we could not establish
Every empty cell above has a reason. These are the reasons for this vessel, written down at the time the record was made, including the places where published sources contradict each other.
All nine AmaDahlia departure dates on the AmaWaterways calendar for autumn 2026 fall on a Wednesday, seven days apart. The operator does not state a weekly pattern anywhere, so we have not recorded a departure day. The pattern of Wednesdays is derived from the listed dates, not from any operator statement.
Trade press from August 2026 reports that a reimagined AmaDahlia returns in September 2026, but no source describes what work was carried out, and the operator's ship page does not mention a refit. Because the refit is unconfirmed in its scope, the cabin mix and the 72-guest figure may have changed.
Two figures circulate for guest capacity. CruiseMapper carries 72 in its data table and 68 in its prose. The operator states 72.
Several resellers describe the ship as award-winning. No named award for AmaDahlia appeared in any source we read, so we have not recorded an award.
No source we read publishes anything about full-ship charter for this vessel. The charter rate, the charter minimum and charter availability are all unrecorded for that reason.
Propulsion is not stated by any source we read and has not been assumed.
Pricing is in euros because only the EU storefront was reachable. AmaWaterways publishes EUR 6,234 as a lead-in fare per person, double occupancy, for the whole 11-night package. That package mixes Cairo hotel nights with nights aboard. It is not a per-night rate and it is not a whole-cabin price. The operator does not publish the cruise-only night count, so the figure cannot be converted into either. We have not recorded a starting rate for that reason. Several third-party sites, Cruise Critic, AffordableTours, Atlas Travel and Mundy Cruising, all returned HTTP 403, which limited any second sourcing. The source for the EUR 6,234 figure is https://www.amawaterways.com/river-cruises/africa/egypt. The same problem applies to the AmaLilia record, where the starting rate is unrecorded for the same reason.
Recorded 12 September 2026. If you can settle any of these, tell us and we will correct the record in public.
Press, awards and guest reviews
What other people published about this vessel. These are not our claims and they are not our view. Where an entry was the source for a fact above, the note says so.
Press
Guest reviews
Something here wrong? Say so and we will correct it in public, with the old value left visible. See the corrections log.